Looking Up in London

Last summer I travelled to London, the last leg of a three-country european vacation. I hadn’t been in London in years and I remember looking forward to this trip. Making it even more special was the fact that this was my daughter’s first visit to London. It was great seeing the city through her eyes. Another aspect that made the trip very different and also special was the fact that I had two digital cameras with me: my DSLR and iPhone. Back in 1997 or ’98 when I made my first trip, I owned a simple point and shoot film camera. The pictures I took were lousy. I barely have any photos from that first trip.

I kept looking up, like some slack-jawed yokel on his first trip away from home.

This time around I took plenty of pictures with both cameras. I was looking at this city with a special eye, making a conscious decision to pay closer attention to the details. I wanted to explore and see different things. It was like I was seeing London for the very first time. I think I enjoyed this second visit far more than the first. Within minutes of emerging from the tube near our hotel, I was able to snap away several great shots, specifically of buildings. I didn’t remember seeing these sights before!

Throughout my trip, I just keep admiring the architecture, ornate designs and structures in and around London. I kept looking up, like some slack-jawed yokel on his first trip away from home. I didn’t care. I was having too much fun! While everyone around me was enjoying the common “touristy” spots, I was busy staring above everyone’s heads and admiring the beauty of English architecture.

All pictures in the gallery were taken with my iPhone 4S.

9 responses to “Looking Up in London

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up | Becoming Aussie·

  2. I love how once you become a photographer and blogger you see everything in a different way. You pay more attention to the details. Good for you! Your photos of the architectural details of London are wonderful. I wish I could revisit all the places I’ve been with my camera and my eye ready to see all the fabulous details I missed the first time around. 🙂

      • Well, Nando, when I return to the U.S. I can’t wait to see all the mundane things there I once took for granted. I’ll be seeing everything old and routine with a new eye. Can’t wait. 🙂

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...

