Beyond: A WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge

Helicopter ride around Manhattan back in '89.

Lady Liberty in the foreground while New York City waits for me beyond.

Shortly after my 21st birthday, I was given a fantastic birthday present by a co-worker:  a 20 minute helicopter ride around New York City! I sat up front right next to the pilot as I snapped away a few pictures during the ride. I remember being so enthralled at seeing my neighborhood and high school from so high up. I remember midtown Manhattan and flying over the Hudson and East River. I wanted that flight to never end.

The helicopter then started to fly away from Manhattan and towards the Statue of Liberty. I was not expecting that at all! I didn’t know exactly what flight package was selected so the whole ride was a total surprise. Flying a wide circle around that beautiful lady was very special and I remember the pilot’s glee on his face upon seeing mine. That’s when I took out my camera (which had been put away all this time) and snapped away only a few pics. I wish I had taken more but I was too enthralled with the ride to see it all behind the lens of a cheap film camera.

I knew that this was going to be the last leg of the trip before heading back to the heliport. Although the focus in this picture was the Statue of Liberty, the World Trade Center and the surrounding financial district proved to be in later years the main subject of this shot. I’m glad I was given this unique opportunity to take it. This skyline has never been the same again and I’m glad I have a momento to remember it by.

4 responses to “Beyond: A WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...

