Finally! An Alternative Rock Station Back in NYC!

So I’m going through my presets on my car radio yesterday and was shocked to hear a song by Alex Clare called Too Close. To be honest I’ve never heard of this song but I liked it. What was most amazing however was the fact that it was playing on a 101.9, a station dedicated completely to news. I often heard from time to time when I needed to get traffic info but not much. I didn’t like the way the news was edited. If you wanted some news of substance, 101.9 wasn’t the way to go.

Several months ago I had blogged about 101.9 RXP going off the air and how bummed out I was about it. I stopped listening to radio by then, opting to listen to Pandora when I’m online or satellite radio when I rented cars for work. Now there was yet another contender on the radio scene and I was intrigued. Looking for information online I discovered that 101.9 is now New Rock. I was stoked!

I checked out their Facebook page and read the comments. I feel the same enthusiasm as everyone does but as many have commented, I am wary. I don’t want to hear the same songs repeated over and over again ad nauseam (I’ve heard Too Close several times already). I’ve heard several 90s alternative music on the air but I would like to listen to new artists, indie performers and local musicians. I hope this station supports the incredible amount of undiscovered talent out there.

I would also like to see specialized “shows” at certain times of the day or week. For example, they can have a lunch hour with old school alternative/new wave/punk rock music. They can also sponsor a “battle of the bands” hour where we could listen to up and coming artists and then vote for the best (I think RXP did that, I’m not sure).

Are there any DJs on this station? I have yet to hear anyone on the air with commentaries, news, or taking requests.

There’s so much potential for this station to be a permanent fixture in New York City. I don’t want to bash other radio stations but I’m SO over the same old tired bubble-gum/pop crap that’s being played on the radio (if I hear “Call Me, Maybe” again in passing, I fear I’m going to jump out of my car while in motion at high speeds!).

You have another shot, 101.9 – don’t screw this golden opportunity up! New Yorkers are counting on you!!!

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...

