Cyan Skies Blogoversary – 3 Years and Counting!

This quick blog post is to simply thank those that have supported this site by both visiting and clicking on that ‘like” button, leaving a comment or even following me. When I started my blog three years ago, I started it with the purpose of connecting with family and friends, through my writing and by posting pictures. Somewhere along the line, that goal became less and less ideal. Somehow my focus for Cyan Skies had shifted and that was totally okay with me.

I realized that I didn’t want to have my personal life completely exposed on the web. I didn’t want to share pictures of birthdays, parties, anniversaries and family get-togethers. We have Facebook for that and even then, I don’t post much there. I have Picasa where I can upload pictures and share a link for all to see. For my photography, I have Flickr and even with that service, I’ve been rather neglectful. This site was transforming into something else. This blog thing was different. I kept coming back to it. I needed to express myself because I’m always writing. I needed to say something. But to whom?

I started to write more and more for me.

I wanted to write about my passions and share it “out there”. I wanted to write about the things I’ve seen and experienced. I wanted to simply vent in a more creative way (and slightly less personal). I wanted to say something worthwhile and important, no matter how obscure or insignificant the topic may be. I had the audience already pegged out, mainly myself. I wanted to write because I simply had to. I’m a writer.

Three years later I’m still writing about pretty much anything: movies, bicycling, traveling and mostly photography. I’m participating in the weekly photo challenges (they’re so fun) and trying to do my best in writing anything worthwhile at least once a week through postaweek.

But something happened along the way: I seem to have picked up some stragglers from the web and that was completely unexpected. I have 50+ subscribers! Really? Don’t you guys have something better to do? 😉

So in wrapping up (so much for the quick post), I want to say thanks again to my readers, both casual and regulars. Thanks for dropping by and seeing what I have to say. I promise to continue to make it worth your while.

Oh, and happy birthday to Cyan Skies!

 

11 responses to “Cyan Skies Blogoversary – 3 Years and Counting!

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...

